Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

27872890Baseball isn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase… he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.
Women started dying.
And everything in my world broke apart.

Pub Date: July 4th 2016 | Page Count: 314 pp 

RATING: 2.5 STARS | Sports Romance, Suspense

gr a-us bn bd


Review

Moonshot is a suspenseful sports romance, where for the most part I didn’t enjoy the story, but I still found bits and pieces I really did like.

Chase and Ty meet while both were still very young, very naïve, with a 5-year age difference. While this couple managed to stir some emotions in me a few times, I feel like I wasn’t completely invested in their relationship and had a hard time connecting and caring for them on that deeper level we always want. At times Chase could be this really cool guy, but at others, he had this irritating sense of ownership over Ty that’s never comforting to read.

We meet Ty when she’s just 18 years old, a ball girl for the Yankees, their field is her home, she’s lively and so full of teenage hope. When her world shattered you could feel your heart breaking alongside hers.

Part of my problem with this novel was how much of the romance was compromised for the sake of the suspense. Suspense and romance are a hard thing juggle. While suspense was constantly alive throughout the novel, the romance faltered from time to time, hence why I had trouble caring for our main characters. And overall it felt like a really weak plot.

What I do have to point out though, was how much I liked the author’s writing, it was fast paced with engaging short chapters that made the story all the more dynamic.

My favorite character award goes to Tyler. I think her character was very well developed, I enjoyed reading her in the different stages of her life, and feeling her passion for her sport; I could relate to her in this aspect, and while towards the end of the novel I could see some contradictions in her actions, she was the one that kept this novel alive for me.

An ARC was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

*Review originally posted on Goodreads on July 4th 2016


About The Authordownload

A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, Alessandra Torre has written thirteen novels, three of which have become New York Times bestsellers.

Her first book, Blindfolded Innocence, was a breakout hit, rising to the top of the ebook charts on Amazon where it attracted the interest of major publishing houses and garnered Torre her first print deal with Harlequin HQN. Less than twelve months later, Torre signed a second print deal, this time with Redhook (Hachette) for the Deanna Madden series, an erotic suspense trilogy.

From her home on the Emerald Coast in Florida, she devotes several hours each day to various writing projects and interacting with her fans on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. Happily married and with one son, she loves watching SEC football games, horseback riding, reading and watching movies.

To stay informed, consider subscribing to Torre’s popular monthly newsletter.


Other Books by Alessandra Torre

25802884 28103957 29778073 22471294


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

Leave a Reply

