Diversity Spotlight Thursday

DST

Welcome to Diversity Spotlight Thursday! A new meme created by Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks. The minute I read about her idea I knew I needed to participate, it’s a very dynamic and entertaining way to find more diverse reads and it actually may motivate readers to try and discover authors and books of this nature.

Every week we’ll be highlighting three different books: A book you have read, A book on your TBR and A book that’s releasing soon. Here are mine!


A book I have read

15798660

YAQUI DELGADO WANTS TO KICK YOUR ASS by Meg Medina | Latina MC, Cultural

One morning before school, some girl tells Piddy Sanchez that Yaqui Delgado hates her and wants to kick her ass. Piddy doesn’t even know who Yaqui is, never mind what she’s done to piss her off. Word is that Yaqui thinks Piddy is stuck-up, shakes her stuff when she walks, and isn’t Latin enough with her white skin, good grades, and no accent. And Yaqui isn’t kidding around, so Piddy better watch her back. At first Piddy is more concerned with trying to find out more about the father she’s never met and how to balance honors courses with her weekend job at the neighborhood hair salon. But as the harassment escalates, avoiding Yaqui and her gang starts to take over Piddy’s life. Is there any way for Piddy to survive without closing herself off or running away? In an all-too-realistic novel, Meg Medina portrays a sympathetic heroine who is forced to decide who she really is.

ADD-TOGR AMAZONUS ibooks BOOK-DEPOSITORY

I read this book a while ago and enjoyed it immensely. I’m Venezuelan and the family dynamics in this is quite different from mine’s, we are all latinos but every single country has their own culture, and I feel like it’s important to mention this because many people seem to think all South American countries are the same. And as you may have guessed from the title this also deals with bullying.


A book on my TBR

23430483

CAM GIRL by Leah Raeder now Elliot Wake | LGBT

Vada Bergen is broke, the black sheep of her family, and moving a thousand miles away from home for grad school, but she’s got the two things she loves most: her art and her best friend—and sometimes more—Ellis Carraway. Ellis and Vada have a friendship so consuming it’s hard to tell where one girl ends and the other begins. It’s intense. It’s a little codependent. And nothing can tear them apart.

Until an accident on an icy winter road changes everything.

Vada is left deeply scarred, both emotionally and physically. Her once-promising art career is cut short. And Ellis pulls away, unwilling to talk about that night. Everything Vada loved is gone.

She’s got nothing left to lose.

So when she meets some smooth-talking entrepreneurs who offer to set her up as a cam girl, she can’t say no. All Vada has to do is spend a couple hours each night stripping on webcam, and the “tips” come pouring in.

It’s just a kinky escape from reality until a client gets serious. “Blue” is mysterious, alluring, and more interested in Vada’s life than her body. Online, they chat intimately. Blue helps her heal. And he pays well, but he wants her all to himself. No more cam shows. It’s an easy decision: she’s starting to fall for him. But the steamier it gets, the more she craves the real man behind the keyboard. So Vada pops the question:

Can we meet IRL?

Blue agrees, on one condition. A condition that brings back a ghost from her past. Now Vada must confront the devastating secrets she’s been running from—those of others, and those she’s been keeping from herself…

ADD-TOGR AMAZONUS ibooks BOOK-DEPOSITORY

This has been on my TBR for way too long, to be honest. I remember the day it came out I was about to pick it up but then I didn’t, and so I’ve been putting it off, but I’m 100% sure I’ll be starting it when the time is right, and specially because I’ve been wanting to try Elliot’s writing for some time now and everyone talks amazingly about his work.


A book releasing soon

26594801THE EDUCATION OF MARGOT SANCHEZ by Lilliam Rivera | Cultural

Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

ADD-TOGR AMAZONUS ibooks B&N

Margot seems like a handful! And I’m not gonna lie, I’m dying to read this, I have an affinity for difficult characters such as her, the premise sounds intriguing and I want to find out how the family aspect fits into all of this.

THE EDUCATION OF MARGOT SANCHEZ releases February 21st 2017 from Simon & Schuster


Have you read some of these books? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments below!

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme created and hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks with the intention of featuring three diverse reads. You can find all the information here 


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

6 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday

  1. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    First of all, thank you so much for participating! You’re one of the first people who have taken the step to spotlight more diverse literature on the YA blogosphere. For that, I am eternally grateful!

    The Education of Margot Sanchez sounds like a phenomenal read, especially since it’s set in the Bronx. The Bronx is such an eclectic, complicated area that gets a bad rep in New York City, but having lived there for a few months, I know that it has so much history and culture. I’d never heard of the book before, but it’s definitely become an anticipated release now. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Like

    • Estefani says:

      It is my pleasure, Aimal! So glad you started this initiative, I’ll try to participate every week if I can! So glad you found another book to add to your TBR! I’ve never been to NYC but I know exactly what you’re talking about, I’m really really excited for this one ❤

      Like

  2. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    I read Yaqui Delgado in 2014 and I enjoyed it. It wasn’t really what I was expecting and I was a bit disappointed with what the plot was about but I really loved the way the Latinx community was represented and I think the author did a good job with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Estefani says:

      I remember you told me once, back when I mentioned this book a couple of months ago! It definitely wasn’t a perfect book but it was really a great one nonetheless for me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

