Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

23299512There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

Pub Date: July 5th 2016 | Page Count: 464 pp | Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Rating: 4 Stars | Monsters of Verity #1 | YA, Urban Fantasy

ADD-TOGR AMAZONUS B&N ibooks BOOK-DEPOSITORY


Review

“It was a cruel trick of the universe, thought August, that he felt human only after doing something monstrous. Which made him wonder if that brief glimpse of humanity was really just an illusion, an echo of the life he’d taken. An impostor sensation.”

Kate and August unlikely alliance and its whole dynamic was like the heart and soul of this novel. Coming from two feuding families the stakes were high, in an unexpected turn of events they find themselves relying on each other in order to survive throughout the hostile streets of Verity where threats are lurking in each corner.

From a first glimpse you could see that there’s more to each family than meets the eye; the Flynn family with this exceptional sense of kinship, and Kate’s unsettling admiration for her father – her need for his acceptance, but is she worshiping the wrong man? Is the Flynn family as united as they seem?

“You’re not you father.” Kate tensed imperceptibly at that, then managed to draw her mouth into a small cruel smile. “Can I tell you a secret?” “Of course,” said Rachel. Kate leaned in and brought her lips to the girl’s ear. “I’m much worse.”

The monsters in Verity are born out of human acts of violence and this is actually the most interesting aspect of THIS SAVAGE SONG, I particularly loved the irony that the deadliest – the Sunai, are the most human-like of the monsters.

Circumstances brought human and monster together, while they do have contrasting personalities, they were also very alike, both Kate and August are desperately trying to avoid what they are by nature, but I found them not as complex as other Schwab characters, they did have this immense amount of emotions and it was so easy for me to care and sympathize with them.

“Even if surviving wasn’t simple, or easy, or fair. Even if he cold never be human. He wanted the chance to matter. He wanted to live.”

On the run, they were forced to trust one another but their relationship evolved so naturally in this almost decadent setting, a city on the verge of collapse, where a single misstep can bring everything crashing down for them, and this aspect of their survival was kind of exhilarating.

Victoria took her time composing a thriller-esque eerie backdrop, it wasn’t up until fifty percent of the book that I actually started reading like in a trance, the story grabs you and doesn’t let you go.

Good-hearted August and ferocious Kate will steal your heart, I promise, they will bring your feelings to surface, I want to hug them both, Kate probably wouldn’t accept my hug but I’d do it all the same. OUR DARK DUET, book two will be out next year.


About The Authorauthor

I am the product of a British mother, a Beverly Hills father, and a southern upbringing. Because of this, I have been known to say “tom-ah-toes”, “like”, and “y’all”. I also suffer from a wicked case of wanderlust, made worse by the fact that wandering is a good way to stir up stories. When I’m not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, I’m usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters.

Twitter | Facebook | TumblrGoodreads Author Page | Website


Other Books by Victoria Schwab

A Darker Shade final for Irene  vicious_victonagi_v-e-schwab  16095936  13638131


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest

 

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

3 thoughts on “Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Yaaay, I’m glad you read this one and liked it too! I agree that it does take a while for the plot to pick up and the story to engulf you – but I think I now expect it from Schwab, after reading a couple of her other books.

    I’d agree though that Kate and August aren’t as complex as her other characters, which is a shame but I wonder if it’s because this book is written with a YA audience in mind? Like I know with Vicious and ADSOM/AGOS, those are ‘adult’ books (though the latter seems to be more popular with YA audiences as well).

    Can’t wait for Our Dark Duet. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Estefani says:

      Yess, I have a feeling that ODD might be better than this one? I thought so too, maybe she implemented a more straight forward plot, and hence the level of complexity? You know what’s been in my head for a while? I feel like all her books read like a YA and maaaybe Vicious has a more adultish vibe going on, but the Shades of Magic books feel very YA to me, I mean I obviously love them, but I can’t see a big difference between her YA and Adult books. Let me know what you think of this, because I feel like I’m the only one!

      Like

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        Hmmm, I would agree. I think Shades of Magic feels YA to me because the main characters are YA-aged, i.e. feels like they’re 19? Or in their early 20s? I can’t remember, but that series does feel YA to me mainly for that reason and the way the plot is set up (i.e. the build-up to the romance elements in Book 2).

        Vicious also has that YA vibe, but I wonder if that’s because I associate Schwab with YA… But yeah, I’d agree with you. 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

