Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Debut Novel

BTT

Welcome, guys, to my first BTT! For today’s topic I chose to feature one of my favorite YA contemporaries, one I recognize not many have enjoyed, but this is a novel that completely captivated me. I’m talking about LOOKING FOR ALASKA by John Green.

                      Original Cover        My Country Cover

99561   22857927

The original cover from Dutton Books published in 2005. And my country cover published in 2014.


Favorite Covers

Looking-For-Alaska-10th-Anniversary   22392593

The Special 10th Anniversary Edition from Dutton Books is without a doubt my favorite cover (I have a thing for black books) and the edition that I own, it’s currently sitting on my shelf and I’m a bit in love with it. The pink one is the Hungarian cover, I saw it for the first time today and it’s completely eye-catching and I kinda like the Grim Ripper on the corner.


Covers I don’t particularly like or dislike

22895231   22812061   22730973  10518900

The Italian, Spanish, Indonesian editions, and I believe the last one is also an American edition.


 Least Favorite Covers

18666827   15770614   6890542  11326534

If you’re looking to design a book cover in the near future, take a good look a these ones and make sure you never create something like this. From the badly edited photography to the wrong choices in typefaces, these covers are the epitome of cover don’ts.


I left many editions out of this post. There are a lot of editions of Looking for Alaska, so tell me which one is your personal favorite?

Book Traveling Thursdays is hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. Here’s the Goodreads group, where you can find all the info.


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest


Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

7 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite Debut Novel

  1. Esther says:

    I have no idea what this book is about and the covers are not really helping me, so I don’t really know which would be my favorite considering the plot. Without knowing anything though, my favorite would also be the one you chose-the black one. It’s simple but it looks interesting!

    I wouldn’t hate the yellow and blue one with the daisy if the head wouldn’t look weirdly large. I don’t know if I’m seeing the illustration all wrong or what but it looks like a gigantic forehead, right? ahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Estefani says:

      haha, I love John’s writing, I see the tropes he uses contanstly, he has very similar characters in all of his 4 books, but…I just like the way he writes haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly says:

    Looking for Alaska is probably my favorite John Green book, so I was ECSTATIC when I saw how beautiful the tenth anniversary cover would be! I definitely need to get my hands on it ASAP!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

