Top Ten Tuesday: Why I love A Song Of Ice And Fire

TTT

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Today I get to show you, once again, my love for that little underrated series called A Song of Ice And Fire, I don’t know maybe you’ve heard of it, so bear with me. On a serious note, keep in mind that although the TV show is phenomenal, I’m strictly talking about the books.


The characters have so much depth to them that I feel like calling them “morally grey” is an understatement. There’s not a single character you can totally hate or love, all of them will do things that piss you off and sometimes things you can totally worship them for, and not a single one is exempt from this rule.

The world-building is truly exceptional. From flora and fauna to local customs and every little detail in-between, everything makes this world so rich and captivating, and when you read the books you cannot help but feel transported. And yes, even with all the gore and nastiness.

It has so many different cultures, new and inspired by our own real world’s, and when you thought it couldn’t go even further, it does, and it shows you traditions and folklore from millennia ago.

Although it’s a fantasy novel, it has many parallels with our real world. Political or cultural, it doesn’t shy away from the problems that still perdure today, from corrupt forms of power to every misogynist belief.

The world is so vast that there are always new theories around. George has created a world that not only is vivid but it’s a huge web of present storylines and history combined that he’s constantly weaving, and this gives so much room for speculation.

The level of detail is something I’ve never read before. Saying that the story is in the details might not be a far-fetched statement. Every small detail counts, and it helps build and even bigger setting, everything is in there and everything is so carefully crafted: like what type of armor is a certain army wearing and why is it wearing it, what type of fabric the ladies are using depending on the geography, very precise physical descriptions and on and on…

Its writing made me read between the lines. He writes in such a simple and yet intricate way and it feels like it’s inviting you to keep guessing and playing the game along the characters, and then bam! you’re ruined for every other fantasy series out there, because you now over-analyze everything *thumbs up*.


Are you still here? Yes? Ah, I’m so glad. Well, I guess you now know I’m kind of in love with the series, and one of the best decisions I’ve made in my entire life was to pick up A Game of Thrones when I did, years ago. Okay, I’m not quite sure of this because The Winds of Winter isn’t out yet and I’m in a sort of state of suffering, but let’s say I’m enduring it, because waiting for the next book a in series is not, like, the best feeling in the world, you know?

So, here are some pictures I wanted to share with you. Out of the many editions, these are my favorites from Harper Voyager. These pictures are not mine, these are Ziba’s from ziba.reads on bookstagram, and you should totally follow her because her pictures are gorgeous.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 8.19.47 PM Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 8.19.32 PM Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 8.19.11 PM

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and The Bookish, visit their page for upcoming topics and guidelines!


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest


Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Why I love A Song Of Ice And Fire

    • Estefani says:

      I know! A lot of people find it too hard to get into. Ugh, right?! Those are the ones I like the most, but the series has a lot of pretty editions 😍

      Like

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        For sure, haha. It’s like Harry Potter – just when I think the covers couldn’t look any better, they came up with newer editions that just blew me away. It’s great though that there are so many design choices to suit everyone’s tastes. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve never read any Game of Thrones books, but it seems like something I would really like since I’m a big fan of fantasy in general. To be honest, I’ve just been so intimidated by the sheer size of those books! o.o I know that once I get hooked I’ll be fine, it’s just starting that’s the problem haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

