Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J MaasFeyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

 


Rating: 4.5 Stars | A Court of Thorns and Roses #2 | Romance

ADD-TOGR AMAZONUS B&N ibooks TARGET


Review

“Hello, Feyre darling”

This book was many things for me, and while I have good and bad things to note about it, it was the positive aspects that took over the whole experience and turned this into one of my favorite books of this year, and probably ever. How do I know? I’m still re-living it, when I was reading it, I turned the pages like my life depended on it, it captivated me in a way I had not expected, I found myself enthralled by every detail within.


Feyre, my girl Feyre. I liked her character so much this time around, I have always thought the strongest characters are the ones who are not afraid of showing their vulnerabilities, and because she recognizes them she’s able to transform herself, she knows it’s time to use what she was given, and all her growth was an amazing thing to witness, and most importantly, how she does this for no one but for herself.

“I wonder if some part of me knew what was waiting for me. That I would never be a gentle grower of things, or someone who burned like fire-but that I would be quiet and enduring and as faceted as the night”

One of the many reasons I loved this book the way I did was because I experienced it in a whole new light. Romance, in A Court of Mist and Fury and dare I say in most of Maas’ books, plays a huge part in her stories. I used to think her novels relied too much on the romantic aspect, I now think she incorporates it with full intention, and I’m more than okay with that. This book is so subtly romantic and so carefully crafted that you’ll be craving for more.

Rhysand and Feyre are seriously #RelationshipGoals, they have the type of relationship I couldn’t get enough of, the sexual tension, the banter, the teasing; it was all a beautiful game to see them play. You could see in every piece of conversation they had how they grew closer and closer each time, how they complemented each other without the need of codependency. Their slow-burn romance made it all exciting and more gratifying. I loved how, despite having this intense chemistry, they were first and foremost friends, confidantes, and partners on the same team.

I consider important what happened between Feyre and Tamlin, the reasons why she needed to get away for her own sanity persist as the main issue, but behind that situation was also the idea that it is okay to let yourself fall in love again, that you never have to stay tied to someone you don’t want and while I truly believe this was the way everything was supposed to play out since the first book – in A Court Of Thorns and Roses I never felt an honest and relevant relationship between them – I did not like how the character of Tamlin was handled in this second book.

“We’re not finished with this meal,” Tamlin growled. “Oh, get over yourself,” I barked, and left.”

I was never the biggest fan of Maas’ writing, but it was something I admit I really enjoy, leaving aside a few repetitive words and other things here and there, with a cast of amazing characters and a simple but rich story, I couldn’t help but fall in love with everything. The Night Court is something that it’ll be imprinted on my mind for quite a while and I don’t know why but I always imagined it would be all kinds of beautiful – once you get there you won’t want to leave.

A Court of Mist and Fury was two things for me: love, and unconditional friendship. The characters in this novel and their different relationships with each other gave me so much LIFE, seriously, I think I feel younger. From the Illyrian stories, to Mor and Amren’s past, it was mesmerizing getting to know the Court of Dreams, the characterization had me internally cheering, that’s how much I loved them, I loved that Maas’ was so invested in these new set of characters, how she made the reader understand why Rhysand, delicious Rhysand, sacrificed himself for his family and everything that was precious to him.

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys” Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen-and the dreams that are answered”

I’m clamoring for more; I need more of this thrilling story that made its way to my all-time favorites shelf and to my heart, I’m excited for the new relationships that will be forming in the next book *wink* I’m so ready for more of this story that is equal parts Romance and Fantasy, and I loved it as a whole and also every facet of it, the magic, the relationships, the world, everything.

“Life is better when you’re around”


About The Authorsjm

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses and its sequel A Court of Mist and Fury. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Empire of Storms, the fifth Throne of Glass novel, will release on September 6th, 2016

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr | Blog | Goodreads Author Page 


OTHER BOOKS BY Sarah J. Maas

23666139  13574861  18846563  20613470


Follow Fiction Jungle and Let’s Connect!

Instagram     Tumblr     Twitter     Goodreads    Facebook     Pinterest


Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

8 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Carrianne says:

    I completely agree with the way that Tamlin’s character was handled and I didn’t like how abrupt the change appeared to be. Even if things happened three months after the end of the first book, I felt like I missed a lot. Things had gone from happily ever after to suffocating and restrictive. I really hope things are dealt with more in the third book.

    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Estefani says:

      Aww thank you! I think I can understand where he was coming from, but the thing that didn’t sit well with me is that he was turned into a downright villain, I was a Feysand shipper from the beginning but I don’t know…haha let’s see how things go in the third book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrianne says:

    Hahaha oh yeah, me too! I was ecstatic with the events of this book as a Feysand shipper as well. I totally agree and don’t like that Tamlin became a bit of a villain. It was an interesting way to have things go, that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

