Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

TTT

Picking up books on a whim can go in many different ways, and it’s something that doesn’t work for everybody- but I’ve been pretty lucky, I actually have a good eye for picking up good books, some of these are my all-time favorites like, Jellicoe Road and Alice – the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning and Experiment in Terror by Karina Halle are two series I couldn’t get enough of back in the day, and well, I guess I’m still pretty much obsessed with them.

Enticing synopsis and maybe hype are the reasons why started reading these without giving them much though, and although picking book on a whim is something I rarely do anymore, and I can’t really explain why, but considering my record, I should be doing it more, I mean, all the books that aren’t favorites on this list I’ve enjoyed immensely, so that has me wondering what unknown adventure might come next.

*Click on any cover to add to Goodreads!

11729060  7042434  20448515  13517535  6283272

Darkhouse by Karina Halle | Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta | Bared To You by Sylvia Day | Thoughtless by S. C Stephens | Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

 

13455782  20948079  24434446  Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00072]  19364719

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi | He+She by Michelle Warren | Alice by Christina Henry | The Baller by Vi Keeland | Slasher Girls and Monster Boys edited by  April Genevieve Tucholke

Personally a raving review of a favorite blogger of mine is a strong enough reason to instantly start a new book without giving it a second though, it happened to me with Alice by Christina Henry when Emily May from The Book Geek gave it 5 stars, she basically said all the magic words I needed, I was hooked, I bought it and I literally started reading it 5 minutes after reading her review.

Beautiful covers is something I really don’t find alluring, I feel like I need something more substantial if I’m going to spend my time on a book, so I decide to leave them as eye candy. Although, you know, who doesn’t love a pretty cover?

Now tell me about you! Does picking up books on a whim is something that works for you? What kind of encouragement do you need to pick a book up right off the bat? 

 

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and The Bookish, visit their page for upcoming topics and guidelines!


Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader says:

    While a cover will make me look, like you, I need more to actually pick it up. I’m not spending my money/time on something if the synopsis doesn’t intrigue me 😀 I just picked up Darkfever from a secondhand bookstore in Brussels. I’m excited to read it now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Estefani says:

      Exactly! I few months ago I was on the verge of buying a book just because of the cover and the synopsis was meh, so glad I left it there. YAY! Darkfever is one of my favorite books, it has a lot of mixed reviews though, let me know if you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

