Review: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

7042434

Rating 5 Stars

Goodreads Review

In this lyrical, absorbing, award-winning novel, nothing is as it seems, and every clue leads to more questions.

At age eleven, Taylor Markham was abandoned by her mother. At fourteen, she ran away from boarding school, only to be tracked down and brought back by a mysterious stranger. Now seventeen, Taylor’s the reluctant leader of her school’s underground community, whose annual territory war with the Townies and visiting Cadets has just begun. This year, though, the Cadets are led by Jonah Griggs, and Taylor can’t avoid his intense gaze for long. To make matters worse, Hannah, the one adult Taylor trusts, has disappeared. But if Taylor can piece together the clues Hannah left behind, the truth she uncovers might not just settle her past, but also change her future.

Review

“If you weren’t driving, I’d kiss you senseless,” I tell him.
He swerves to the side of the road and stops the car abruptly. “Not driving any more”

Those exact lines were the ones I read a long time ago, on a post on Tumblr, I immediately google them, I wanted to know where they came from. That’s how I found this book.

I first read it last year in November, I was about 20 pages in on my Kindle; I suddenly stopped, and ordered a physical copy. That’s how long it took me to realize that there was something about this book, even if the first chapters were a bit confusing.

But do you know what’s the best thing about Jellicoe Road? Reading Jellicoe Road for a second time. You can actually appreciate its magnificence. From the writing, to the characters and the story, they compliment each other beautifully, in a way I haven’t read before. This is one of those books that you probably won’t find, and when you find them and read them, you know it’s going to stay with you for the rest of your life. It’s one of a kind, unique, uncommon. This book is placed in a genre where the banalities, concurrent stories, uninteresting; insipid characters, and romanticized unhealthy relationships exist in abundance. So I get why this might be underestimated.

I know with certainty that I’ll read this many times in the future, and I recomend it to you, from the bottom of my heart.

Buy Links

Amazon US – Barnes and Noble – iBooks – Kobo – Book Depository – Audible
 Add to Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

