Review: Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

18079719

Rating 4.5 Stars

Goodreads Description

Sixteen-year-old Austin Szerba interweaves the story of his Polish legacy with the story of how he and his best friend , Robby, brought about the end of humanity and the rise of an army of unstoppable, six-foot tall praying mantises in small-town Iowa.

To make matters worse, Austin’s hormones are totally oblivious; they don’t care that the world is in utter chaos: Austin is in love with his girlfriend, Shann, but remains confused about his sexual orientation. He’s stewing in a self-professed constant state of maximum horniness, directed at both Robby and Shann. Ultimately, it’s up to Austin to save the world and propagate the species in this sci-fright journey of survival, sex, and the complex realities of the human condition.

Review

This book is many things: strange, unusual, unrealistic, grotesque, kind of nasty, a bit misogynistic, fun and entertaining, all at once. I actually chuckled several times throughout the book. There were many hilarious quotes in it, but I forgot to mark them.“What can you do?”

It’s full of repetitive sentences, but once you get the feel of it, you can go through it more easily. Austin was, to me, very similar to Ryan Dean from Winger. Of course I didn’t relate with Austin, at all, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying his story. I believe it’s bullshit when people claim they didn’t liked certain book because they didn’t “relate” to the characters. When reading fiction, with fictional characters, it is highly probable we’re not going to relate to them, so you either like them, or you don’t. “What can you do?”

The writing of this book was phenomenal, you could feel it was Austin telling you his story, which I had a feeling he was kind of an unreliable narrator. Throughout the book he told us about his family history, and it was told in a very specific way, which makes you wonder, how could he possibly know that? He told us several times that he does not lie, I’m not sure if I believed him. Of course all these things I found rather amusing. “What can you do?”

As I was reading I kept picturing how it would end, and I couldn’t, I was blank. Once I’ve finished, I realized, well that was perfectly climatic considering the nature of the book.

“And that was our day.
You know what I mean.”

Buy Links

Amazon US – Barnes and Noble – iBooks – Kobo – Book Depository – Audible
 Add to Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

