Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green

23359962

Rating 5 Stars

Goodreads Description

Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words—and tired of his safe life at home. He leaves for boarding school to seek what the dying poet Francois Rabelais called “The Great Perhaps.” Much awaits Miles at Culver Creek, including Alaska Young, who will pull Miles inter her labyrinth and catapult him into the Great Perhaps.

Looking for Alaska brilliantly chronicles the indelible impact one life can have on another. Winner of multiple awards including the Printz Medal, this stunning debut marked #1 bestselling author John Green’s arrival as a groundbreaking new voice in contemporary fiction.

Review

This is one of the few books I’ve read that the rating faltered consistently throughout the entire novel. It started at 2, then went to a 3, to a 2, to a 4, to a 3 again, and then when I finished, I realized I needed to forget everything everyone said about it and think about how I honestly felt. Believe me, it would be easier to talk bad about it.

I agree with what everyone says about John Green, I do believe his protagonists have the same characteristics, and besides everything, I love greatly John Green’s writing.

I now understand why so many people hate it, Pudge was a weak willed character, the Colonel was bossy, and Alaska was insufferable, egotistical and vulnerable. But above all, they felt very real to me.

And I stand for what I said before, I dislike every one of them. Aside from many people who need to “connect” with the characters so they can be able to like a novel, I found myself loving this book, I don’t need to love or like the characters for me to enjoy a novel. And I think that gives a bit more perspective.

I have the 10th Anniversary edition – which is beautiful – and as special features, it has a Q&A, deleted scenes and other comments, and that helped me understand the novel better.

We are not supposed to like any of them. We are not supposed to share their feelings, and the novel doesn’t dictate how you are supposed to feel, We are never told whether their actions are right or wrong. And at the end, it leaves questions that can only be answered in your own way, because nothing is certain. Like everything, nothing is definite.

The Colonel was my favorite, and I probably wouldn’t stand him in real life, but I enjoyed him a lot

Buy Links

Amazon US – Barnes and Noble – iBooks – Kobo – Book Depository – Audible
 Add to Goodreads
Leave a Reply

