Review: Every Day by David Levithan

15771468

Rating 2.5 Stars

Book #1

Goodreads Description

I wake up.

Immediately, I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body – opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re used to waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp.

Every day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else.

It has always been like this.

Review

I don’t know what I just read, I felt nothing, nothing. I thought this was going to be awesome more whimsical, mysterious. But this book started in the most ridiculous way, A just falls in love, so fast, and it’s clearly just infatuation, I didn’t believe it for one second. The way he lives? He obviously wants someone to care for him, someone to know him, to feel like he belongs somewhere. But he just falls in love the minute he sees this girl, after that, I couldn’t take this seriously, and I tried.

I’ve never DNF’ed a book before, I finish every book I start, even if it’s not a good one, even if I’m not liking it. But this was the second time I’ve considered doing it. I felt like it had no introduction and no conclusion.

When I was done, I immediately wanted to read some reviews, I wanted to see if someone felt the way I did, and I was shocked to find that even my favorite reviewers loved this, and of course everyone perceives books differently, and that’s the beauty of it all, right? But I was left wondering; was I supposed to feel that way as well?

But I have a question, didn’t the insta-love threw you off a bit? Didn’t it felt out of place? A platonic relationship would have had more meaning.

The thing I liked, thought, was the perspective this book showed us. It was exciting to see who was going to be the next person, to experiment different lives through their eyes. It showed us that we are meant to be contrasting and equals at the same time, and that, was honestly beautiful.

Before finishing, I was certain I was going to read the prequel, and the sequel, but given that I felt nothing for this book, now I’m not going to, unless there is a third novel in which the story develops further. This left me wanting more…

You might notice I used male pronouns. I’m aware that we weren’t notified of A’s gender, and I had no problem with that, and there’s no need to give a gender to this character, but I felt like A was male, it was just a feeling. No specific reason behind it. But also I’m pretty sure that’s a guy on the cover.

Buy Links

Amazon US – Barnes and Noble – iBooks – Kobo – Book Depository – Audible
 Add to Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

