Review: Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard

22706899

rating 1 star

goodreads description

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

review

I feel like it’s kind of unjust of me to review this book, I didn’t even wanted to read it, but I’m doing the Popsugar Reading Challenge and it fit into two of its categories, I gave it a try. And honestly I thought that maybe it could redeem itself at some point, I thought I might even like it at the end. Needless to say I didn’t like it in the slightest.

That “twist” at the end? You could see it coming from the beginning. I felt like I was reading a soap opera. What everyone says about this, that it’s a mix of other books – that I won’t bother to mention – it’s completely true, it’s undeniable – I even felt an X-Men vibe -.

What bothers me tremendously is that, I first saw it months before its release, that shows the amount of publicity this book got from the very beginning, and that these type of books are what publishers are deciding to put out there.

No matter how differently a summary is, most YA books end up giving you the same feel.

But this book was different, this went beyond any of that. I kept wondering, am I supposed to believe in any of this? Am I supposed to think there is any rationality in the minds of these characters? That there is some rationality within this “plot”?

I must say, Cal was the best character, the most real, the most grey of them, and he didn’t even appear in the novel that much.

It irks me when an author relies on the stupid decisions of their characters to plot a book.

Have you watched those movies like The Starving Games and The Hungover Games? Where they make fun of several blockbuster movies? Well, this kind of felt like that, like a parody

Buy links

amazon us – barnes and noble – kobo – ibooks – book depository – audible
 add to goodreads
Leave a Reply

